Thailand 2022 Day 0: A Luxurious Stay at the Sarojin

2022 has been such a great year to me so far. This is the year that I feel like everything in my life is slowly falling into place. I finally found a job I’m truly passionate about, I’m about to marry the love of my life, and I was able cross another country off my bucket list. The latter was something I did not expect to happen in the year 2022 since traveling was out of the budget as my fiancé and I were saving up for our upcoming wedding. It just so happened that my company had a team building planned and as luck would have it, it was an all-expense-paid-out-of-the-country trip.

We started our day as early as possible because we had a morning flight to catch. I do love red-eye flights because there’s little to no crowd at NAIA in the wee hours of the morning. The only downside was waiting for the terminals to open for check in. We were aware that it would be a long day of traveling since we were transiting from Singapore to Phuket. But honestly, I was too excited and too grateful to even complain about anything.

The flight to Singapore was smooth and we arrived in Changi airport in no time. We explored the vast airport and even rode the skytrain. Too bad we weren’t able to visit the famous waterfall to take photos. Unfortunately, the officers does not recommend going through SG immigration when you only have a 5 hour layover. To our dismay, we just went to our terminal and waited for our next flight to Phuket.

In no time, we were seated on the plane and on our way to Thailand. The moment we landed, I just took it all in. It felt kind of surreal to be out and about in a different country again.

Our first agenda at the airport was exchanging currencies and buying sim cards. Once those were done, we went outside to look for our ride to the hotel. This was the start of our “luxurious” experience. The hotel sent each couple a car and a driver of their own. That definitely made us feel like VIPs.

Once we were at the resort, we were greeted by the staff and they welcomed us with flowers and a glass of refreshing coconut water.

After briefing us with the hotel guidelines, the staff directed us to our “garden residence”. Let me just say, that this resort has the most accommodating and friendly staff. While we were on our way to the room, I accidentally step on wet soil and my white shoe got covered in mud. The staff immediately took my shoe and sent it for dry cleaning.

Our home for the next 3 days
Our very own sun terrace

Seeing our room was the highlight of my day. It was everything I expected and more. The first thing I noticed was the complimentary fresh fruits and then the mini bar.

I was happy to know that we had unlimited refill of coffee and teas. The bathroom essentials also did not disappoint. I especially loved the smell of their soaps and shampoos.

My favorite part of the room was the spacious bathroom. There was not only a bathtub but also a rainfall shower.

There was even an area where you can work or eat if you like.

After checking every inch of the room and taking a hundred photos, we ordered room service because we got hungry, lol. We had pad thai and a seafood dish that I can’t remember the name of. Both we’re good but the pad thai was the clear winner. It was so delicious that I am now craving for it while typing this.

…. And that was the end of our day. Not much happened since we traveled the whole time. The next day, we start our actual adventure through the city of Phuket. I can’t wait to write down the experience I had with the elephants and other exciting activities we did on our first day. Stay tuned for that on my next post! 🙂

It is our happy memories that sustain us, that carry us through the challenging times of life.

Leave a comment