’13 Reasons Why’: 13 Differences of the Book from the TV Show


As a book purist, I clearly despise alterations when it comes to film adaptations of books. Most of the time, I compare and complain. But with 13 Reasons Why, it was different. I did not mind the changes at all.

This is rare for me but I got to admit, the TV Show was so much better than the book. Watching it gave me a lot of feels. Don’t even get me started with the last two episodes, the rape-scene deeply scarred me while the suicide scene will forever be engraved in my mind.

There are adaptations that makes unnecessary changes but with the 13 Reasons Why TV show, the changes were exactly what book readers like me needed to satisfy our conflicting feelings about the book.

So what are those notable changes you ask? Find out below:

  1. Clay Jensen in the book had a crush on Hannah but they barely knew each other. He briefly worked with her over one summer in a movie theatre but was hardly friends with her and they were never as close as they were in the show.
  2. Clay listened to the tapes all in one night and never confronted anyone. While on the show as mentioned by Tony, he was the slowest yet to listen to the tapes which was caused by his anxiety (also not mentioned in the book).  He also confronted every person mentioned on the tapes.
  3. There was no Law suit in the book while it was one of the integral parts of the show.
  4. The book only showed Clay’s perspective and did not inform the readers how the tapes affected the other characters. The parents are also more involved in the show which was never mentioned in the book.
  5. Sheri Holland from the series was Jenny Kurtz in the book.
  6. The order of tapes was changed. Clay was the 9th person to receive the tapes followed by Sherry/Jenny unlike in the show where he was number 11 followed by Bryce.
  7. Courtney was not a lesbian in the book and she spread a different rumor. Unlike in the show where Courtney and Hannah’s kissing scene was intentional, the girls act out an entirely fabricated scene, pretending to be into each other in the book. Courtney also started rumors that Hannah had sex toys in her bedroom rather than the rumor she spread that Hannah was into threesome in the show.
  8. Jeff doesn’t exist in the book. Jeff in the book was the unnamed boy who crashes into a car with an old man after Jenny knocks down the stop sign.
  9. Bryce in the book was a total jerk and not the resident “nice” guy he is in the series. He is known for grabbing girls and manhandling them. In the show, he overall doesn’t come off like the threat he actually is because he’s nice to everyone.
  10. In the book, Hannah does not flee when everyone but Bryce got out of the hot tub and even when he started putting his hands on her, she just stays there not moving. In the show, it was a full on attack. She begged Bryce to stop and very clearly kept trying to get away from him.
  11. Hanna originally committed  suicide by swallowing pills unlike in the series where she slit her wrists.
  12. The public exposure of tapes was never done in the book. 
  13. The book ends with Clay going to school the next day after mailing the tapes to the next person on the list (Sherry/Jenny), as instructed by Hannah. In the series, Clay skips number 12. Instead he secretly records a confession from Hannah’s rapist and adds it to the box, before sending the tapes to the last person on the list.


But you know what I think the biggest change was? Season 2! The 13 reasons Why had no sequel whatsoever, it had an open-ended ending where readers were left to imagine what happened next. So I’m glad that that was not the case for the show. I’m surely looking forward for the next season!


Book Review: The Circle by Dave Eggers


“A circle is the strongest shape in the universe. Nothing can beat it, nothing can improve upon it. And that’s what we want to be: perfect. So any information that eludes us, anything that’s not accessible, prevents us from being perfect.”

Book Summary:

When Mae Holland is hired to work for the Circle, the world’s most powerful internet company, she feels she’s been given the opportunity of a lifetime. The Circle, run out of a sprawling California campus, links users’ personal emails, social media, banking, and purchasing with their universal operating system, resulting in one online identity and a new age of civility and transparency.

As Mae tours the open-plan office spaces, the towering glass dining facilities, the cozy dorms for those who spend nights at work, she is thrilled with the company’s modernity and activity. There are parties that last through the night, famous musicians playing on the lawn, athletic activities and clubs and brunches, and even an aquarium of rare fish retrieved from the Marianas Trench by the CEO.

Mae can’t believe her luck, her great fortune to work for the most influential company in the world—even as life beyond the campus grows distant, even as a strange encounter with a colleague leaves her shaken, even as her role at the Circle becomes increasingly public.

What begins as the captivating story of one woman’s ambition and idealism soon becomes a heart-racing novel of suspense, raising questions about memory, history, privacy, democracy, and the limits of human knowledge.  

(From the publisher.)

Continue reading

Book Review: Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver


“I shiver, thinking how easy it is to be totally wrong about people–to see one tiny part of them and confuse it for the whole, to see the cause and think it’s the effect or vice versa.”

Book Summary:

What if you had only one day to live? What would you do?
Who would you kiss? And how far would you go to save your own life?

Samantha Kingston has it all: the world’s most crush-worthy boyfriend, three amazing best friends, and first pick of everything at Thomas Jefferson High—from the best table in the cafeteria to the choicest parking spot. Friday, February 12, should be just another day in her charmed life.

Instead, it turns out to be her last.

Then she gets a second chance. Seven chances, in fact. Reliving her last day during one miraculous week, she will untangle the mystery surrounding her death—and discover the true value of everything she is in danger of losing.

(From Lauren Oliver’s web page)

Continue reading