Book Review: Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

IMG_4458

“I shiver, thinking how easy it is to be totally wrong about people–to see one tiny part of them and confuse it for the whole, to see the cause and think it’s the effect or vice versa.”

Book Summary:

What if you had only one day to live? What would you do?
Who would you kiss? And how far would you go to save your own life?

Samantha Kingston has it all: the world’s most crush-worthy boyfriend, three amazing best friends, and first pick of everything at Thomas Jefferson High—from the best table in the cafeteria to the choicest parking spot. Friday, February 12, should be just another day in her charmed life.

Instead, it turns out to be her last.

Then she gets a second chance. Seven chances, in fact. Reliving her last day during one miraculous week, she will untangle the mystery surrounding her death—and discover the true value of everything she is in danger of losing.

(From Lauren Oliver’s web page)

My Review:

This book was part of my reading list last 2016 but never got the time to read it because life happened. But last month, as I was scrolling through my Facebook feed, I saw the Before I Fall movie trailer and knew then that I had to rush to a bookstore and get a copy. I’m the kind who have to read a book first before watching the movie because I like comparing and complaining the differences. (Crazy, I know but let’s be honest, most book-turned-movies never get the simplest stuff right. You know, when a character’s hair is supposed to be blonde and she comes out with dark brown hair?)

I’m pleased that this is one of books that made me get my old habit back. The old habit of reading and never thinking about time, of only seeing the descriptions and conversations that’s playing on my head like a movie. I was so engrossed from start to end that one day was enough to finish the entire book.

The main character, Sam, was relatable in a way that you know there are people like her who would spontaneously do things because of influence and peer pressure. Sam would go through seven days reliving the same day but each time, she would come to understand something new and would see things differently. And little by little would realize that each of her actions, no matter how small, would have repercussions not only affecting her but everyone around her. My favorite part? The ending – something you would expect and not expect to happen.

It’s not a life-changing kind of book but it will make you look at life a little differently. This book is a reminder that everything and everyone is connected,  that we should learn to convey appreciation and gratitude to the things we have in life, and that we should conquer our demons before it’s too late.

“There are some things in life, some bad decisions and missteps, that can simply never be reversed. Life is not a video game, and there is no reset button.”

– Lauren Oliver

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Side note: I’m going back to reviewing books again to motivate myself. I used to do this before, back when I was active on Tumblr but out of frustration, I deleted everything. Somewhere between the popularity of Facebook and the struggle of finding the “right” job, I stopped reading (gasped!).  Well, at least not technically. I would still start one but would either finish it in a whole month or never at all. That was a problem for me because I would usually finish one book in a day – I would be so immersed in reading that I would ignore everything that’s going on around me but sadly, that’s not the case anymore. It sucks that I get easily distracted nowadays. Hopefully being active on this blog would push me to read and read and read.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Leave a Reply

